By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies.     Allow cookies
  • The Vice-Chancellor’s Research Studentships are new to the University of Roehampton for 2012/13. Research studentships (including full bursaries and fees-only) are available for 29 students to undertake study for a PhD to start 1 January 2013.
    Studentships are available in all academic areas where the university can provide appropriate supervision. Applications can be made to any of the 10 Departments of the University: Dance; Drama, Theatre and Performance; Education; English and Creative Writing; Humanities; Life Sciences; Media, Culture and Language; Psychology; Social Sciences and the Business School. Interdisciplinary projects spanning more than one Department are also welcomed.

    Full Bursary Studentships

    Nine successful applicants will receive full bursaries including Home/EU fees plus a Research Council level stipend for three years’ full-time doctoral study. The bursaries will be subject to annual review of student progress. The bursary rate for 2012-13 is £15,590. In addition a contribution towards project costs will be made available, with a minimum of £300 allocated for each bursary student and additional funds available for high-cost laboratory or field projects.

    Fees-only Studentships

    Twenty successful applicants will receive fees-only award, covering home/EU fees for three years’ full-time or four years’ part-time PhD study. The studentships are subject to annual review of student progress.

    How to apply

    • Contact the appropriate Research Student Co-ordinator (list below) or potential supervisors to check that appropriate supervision is available within your chosen field of study and to discuss your project
    • Download and complete the Vice-Chancellor’s Research Studentships Application Form
    • Attach an up-to-date CV
    • Provide a covering letter explaining the expertise and experience you would bring to your project.

    Applications should be sent to:

    Vice-Chancellor's Research Studentships
    Admissions Office
    Erasmus House
    University of Roehampton
    Roehampton Lane
    London
    SW15 5PJ
    Or by email to pgadmissions@roehampton.ac.uk  

    Research Student Co-ordinators

    Business School
    Dr Leonard Holmes leonard.holmes@roehampton.ac.uk

    Dance
    Dr Geraldine Morris geraldine.morris@roehampton.ac.uk

    Drama, Theatre and Performance
    Dr Sarah Gorman s.gorman@roehampton.ac.uk

    Education
    Prof David Hargreaves d.j.hargreaves@roehampton.ac.uk

    English and Creative Writing
    Prof Martin Priestman m.priestman@roehampton.ac.uk

    Humanities
    Dr Ted Vallance edward.vallance@roehampton.ac.uk

    Life Sciences
    Dr Peter Shaw p.shaw@roehampton.ac.uk

    Media, Culture and Language
    Dr Eva Eppler e.eppler@roehampton.ac.uk

    Psychology
    Prof Cecilia Essau c.essau@roehampton.ac.uk

    Social Science
    Dr Steven Groarke s.groarke@roehampton.ac.uk

    Deadline for applications: 1 October 2012
    Interviews: week commencing 5 November 2012
    Decisions will be communicated to candidates at the end of November 2012 and successful students will be expected to start on 1 January 2013.
    For full information, download the Vice-Chancellor's Research Studentship's Flyer (PDF).
    For all general enquiries, please contact the Graduate School
    Email: graduateschool@roehampton.ac.uk
    Telephone
    : 020 8392 3631

Facebook icon   Twitter icon   Google+ icon   LinkedIn icon
© Roehampton University