David Harsent to read from his collection Night for National Poetry Day

TS Eliot prize winning poet Professor David Harsent will be celebrating National Poetry Day by reading from his collection of poems, Night.

Posted: 6 October 2015

image for news story David Harsent to read from his collection Night for National Poetry Day
The Night: An evening of Poetry and Music takes place in a London furniture store and will combine live music and poetry to mark National Poetry Day on Thursday 8 October.

Organised by Poet in the City, guests will be entertained among a world of fireflies, glowing orbs and twinkling stars, as they journey on a promenade performance into the night.

Interwoven with Professor Harsent’s poems from Night, will be performances by internationally acclaimed violinist Madeleine Mitchell. Both will be joined by author and cultural historian Roger Luckhurst.

The event takes place at Ligne Roset, 37-39 Commercial Road, London at 6.30pm for a 7pm start. The event is free, but please book via: www.thenight.eventbrite.co.uk.

David Harsent is a Professor of Creative Writing in Roehampton’s Department of English and Creative Writing. Ranked in the top 20 English departments in the country according to the Guardian University Guide 2016, the Department provides a range of innovative courses at undergraduate and postgraduate level, taught by world-leading writers including Professor Harsent himself.

Latest news

Roehampton students and staff to support local children’s literature festival for third year

This May, Barnes Children's Literature Festival returns to south west London with the University as its lead partner.

Jacqueline Wilson gives students a writing Masterclass

Professor Dame Jacqueline Wilson's shared her writing secrets with postgraduate students in a masterclass that featured a workshop.

Rediscovering London’s Lost History

A collaboration between Roehampton and the Dolphin's Back theatre company is unearthing the secrets of one of England's first theatres and performing a variety of Elizabethan plays on the original site the first time.