Roehampton Poetry Prize shortlist announced

The Roehampton Poetry Centre is pleased to announce a shortlist of six authors for the annual Roehampton Poetry Prize.

Posted: 8 April 2016

image for news story Roehampton Poetry Prize shortlist announced
Professor David Harsent is chairing the judging panel of the 2015 Roehampton Poetry Prize.

The prize is given for the best poetry collection of the year written by a poet of any nationality who is currently living in the UK and is judged exclusively by poets.

The 2015 Prize is judged by poets Ruth Padel and Mimi Khalvati, and chaired by Professor David Harsent, Chair of the Roehampton Poetry Centre and winner of the 2014 TS Eliot Prize for his book Fire Songs.

Announcing the shortlist, Professor Harsent said: “We were delighted by the variety and standard of the entries for this year’s prize.”

The shortlist in alphabetical order (by author):

  • Ian Duhig, The Blind Road-Maker - Picador 
  • John Glenday, The Golden Mean - Picador
  • Kathleen Jamie, The Bonniest Companie - Picador
  • Andrew McMillan, Physical - Cape
  • Peter Riley, Due North - Shearsman
  • Greta Stoddart, Alive Alive O - Bloodaxe

The prize is valued at £5,000 and the winner will be announced in May at a public prize-giving ceremony.

The Roehampton Poetry Prize is open to any collection of poetry in English, or first translation of a collection, not previously published in the UK.

Collections published between 1 April 2015, and 1 April 2016 were eligible for this year’s prize, and poets of any nationality, living and working in the UK at the time of first publication were considered.

The Roehampton Poetry Centre is based at the University of Roehampton in London. It is at the forefront of the UK poetry scene, offering prizes, readings, masterclasses, research and exchange opportunities.

In addition to the Roehampton Poetry Prize, the Roehampton Poetry Centre runs the annual Ruskin Poetry Prize, awarded to the best single poem. It is an open competition for first time writers, students and established authors. The prize will be judged by Professor Fiona Sampson, Director of the Roehampton Poetry Centre. Submissions must be received by the University before 17 April 2016. More information can be found here.

Latest news

Department of English and Creative Writing adds Publishing to its postgraduate offering

Responding to industry needs, Roehampton now proudly offers MA Publishing.

The life of Frankenstein’s creator uncovered by leading Roehampton Professor

Professor Fiona Sampson's new book reveals discoveries that offer a richer understanding of the woman behind Frankenstein.

Fourth student anthology ‘The Unseen’ launched by Fincham Press

The University of Roehampton's Fincham Press is marking publication of its fourth anthology of student work with a public reading on Wednesday December 6.