Shortlist announced for inaugural Ruskin Poetry Prize

The Roehampton Poetry Centre at the University of Roehampton in London announced today [Thursday 15th January] the shortlist for its inaugural Ruskin Poetry Prize. The Ruskin Prize is an open competition established to commend a single work of an author’s poetry.

Posted: 15 January 2015

image for news story Shortlist announced for inaugural Ruskin Poetry Prize
Professor Laura Peters, Head of English and Creative Writing, Professors David Harsent and Fiona Sampson, and Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul O’Prey, at the launch of the Roehampton Poetry Centre.

The prize has been named after John Ruskin, a Victorian philanthropist, political economist and great supporter of the University’s Whitelands College, who was an early proponent of education for young women.

Director of the The Roehampton Poetry Centre, Professor Fiona Sampson said: “With the Ruskin Poetry Prize, we wanted to discover outstanding works and celebrate them by sharing them with Poem magazine’s international readership. We did not want to select a specific topic for this inaugural competition: instead, we welcomed writing in every style and on any topic”.

The Ruskin Prize is judged by Professor David Harsent, this year’s recipient of the prestigious TS Eliot Prize. Professor Harsent said: “The Ruskin Prize attracted a high number of entries which were notable for an equally high level of achievement. Choosing a shortlist was no easy task. My congratulations to the shortlisted poets.”

This year’s shortlist includes, in alphabetical order, Claudia Daventry, with her poem ‘The Oligarch Loses His Patience’, Tania Hershman, with ‘Lessons in Flanders Agriculture’, Nicholas Murray, with ‘Annotations of Byzantium’, and Chloe Stopa-Hunt, with her poem ‘White Hills’.

Initially a shortlist of three had been anticipated, hundreds of entries were received and the standard so high a decision was taken to expand it to four.

Both the winner of this year’s prize, and those shortlisted, will have their poems published in the Centre’s quarterly magazine, POEM.

The Roehampton Poetry Centre was established in 2013 and is chaired by Professor David Harsent, and directed by Professor Fiona Sampson. The Centre is also set to launch the Roehampton Poetry Prize, which will honour the best poetry book of the year written by a poet living and working in the UK.

Latest news

Department of English and Creative Writing adds Publishing to its postgraduate offering

Responding to industry needs, Roehampton now proudly offers MA Publishing.

The life of Frankenstein’s creator uncovered by leading Roehampton Professor

Professor Fiona Sampson's new book reveals discoveries that offer a richer understanding of the woman behind Frankenstein.

Fourth student anthology ‘The Unseen’ launched by Fincham Press

The University of Roehampton's Fincham Press is marking publication of its fourth anthology of student work with a public reading on Wednesday December 6.