The Ruskin Prize for Poetry 2016

The Poetry Centre is delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 Ruskin Prize for Poetry, judged by Professor Fiona Sampson.

Posted: 17 May 2017

image for news story The Ruskin Prize for Poetry 2016
Professor Fiona Sampson

The overall winner is Mark Fiddes, for his poem To Maria Cayetana. Professor Sampson was greatly impressed by "its stately movement, its resolution of all the technical problems of a period and a persona piece, and the lovely lift into something transcendent with which it ends."

Second place is awarded to Ella Frears for her poem The (Little) Death of the Author. Professor Sampson "loved the unashamed braininess alongside its wit, and how the poet manages to sustain the whole sophisticated intellectual conceit."

Third place is awarded to Wendy Orr, for her poem Jenga. Professor Sampson remarked that it impressed her "hugely through its playful energy, its rhythmic spring and bounce – revealing a marvellous ear."

All three winning poems will be published in an upcoming issue of POEM magazine.

The submission period for the 2017 Ruskin Prize for Poetry has now closed. Further details will be announced soon.

Latest news

Rediscovering London’s Lost History

A collaboration between Roehampton and the Dolphin's Back theatre company is unearthing the secrets of one of England's first theatres and performing a variety of Elizabethan plays on the original site the first time.

Department of English and Creative Writing adds Publishing to its postgraduate offering

Responding to industry needs, Roehampton now proudly offers MA Publishing.

The life of Frankenstein’s creator uncovered by leading Professor

Professor Fiona Sampson's new book reveals discoveries that offer a richer understanding of the woman behind Frankenstein.