The Ruskin Prize for Poetry 2017

The Poetry Centre is delighted to announce the winners of the 2017 Ruskin Prize for Poetry, judged by poet-translator Dr Alipio de Franca and poet-critic Dr Patrick Davidson Roberts.

Posted: 1 September 2017

image for news story The Ruskin Prize for Poetry 2017
Winner of the 2017 Ruskin Prize Margaret Wilmot.

The overall winner was Margaret Wilmot, for her poem Hemlock. Revelation. The judges described it as a 'masterful example of the narrative and lyrical combined...its sense of the out-of-sight coupled with a strong belief in the universal experience being depicted.'

Second place was awarded to Paul Munden for his poem Freckle. The judges appreciated the sensitive 'development of an inner monologue' and excellent 'control of form' revolving around strangely rhymed couplets.

Third place was awarded to William Corwin, for his poem Blue Patch with Lavinia. The judges applauded its 'musical clashes, subtle chromatics and inescapable confidence.'

All three winning poems will be published in an upcoming issue of POEM magazine.

Latest news

Rediscovering London’s Lost History

A collaboration between Roehampton and the Dolphin's Back theatre company is unearthing the secrets of one of England's first theatres and performing a variety of Elizabethan plays on the original site the first time.

Department of English and Creative Writing adds Publishing to its postgraduate offering

Responding to industry needs, Roehampton now proudly offers MA Publishing.

The life of Frankenstein’s creator uncovered by leading Professor

Professor Fiona Sampson's new book reveals discoveries that offer a richer understanding of the woman behind Frankenstein.