Write and learn – exclusive tutorials with award winning authors

Award winning authors Adam Foulds and Iain Sinclair are offering eight lucky writers exclusive one to one tutorials. 

Posted: 1 May 2014

image for news story Write and learn – exclusive tutorials with award winning authors
Award winning author Adam Foulds

Adam Foulds is an acclaimed poet, novelist, and lecturer in the Department of English and Creative Writing. His first novel, The Truth About These Strange Times (2007), won the 2008 The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award and a 2007 Betty Trask Award. In 2013 he was awarded the prestigious E. M. Forster Award by the American Academy of Arts and Letters and named as one of Granta's 'Best of Young British Novelists'.

Iain Sinclair is a poet, writer and filmmaker as well as a Senior Honorary Research Fellow at the University. Iain is the author of over 30 works of fiction, including novels such as White Chappel, Scarlet Tracings and Dining on Stones. Iain’s novel Downriver (1991) won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the 1992 Encore Award.

To apply for a tutorial with Adam Foulds or Iain Sinclair, please submit a piece of original writing that is no longer than 500 words. The writing could be a short story, memoir, creative nonfiction, essay or travel writing.

Tutorials will take place in the afternoon on one of the following days May 14, 15, 16h and 21.There are five available tutorials with Adam Foulds and three with Iain Sinclair. Tutorials will last 25 minutes. Please email your piece of work to ecw@roehampton.ac.uk with the subject heading ‘Tutorials’ and indicate your availability and which author you would like a tutorial with.

Latest news

The Print Room hosts award winning Roehampton poet, David Harsent

Notting Hill venue, The Print Room at the Coronet, hosted Professor David Harsent as part of the Autumn/ Winter poetry season.

RoeReads is back for its third year

The University, in association with the Booker Prize Foundation, is offering every student a copy of this year's RoeReads book, Room by Emma Donoghue.

Robert Graves Prize winner announced

The Poetry Centre, and Wimbledon BookFest, are delighted to announce the winners of the inaugural Robert Graves Prize, judged by Professor Fiona Sampson and literary agent Peter Straus. This prize was kindly sponsored by Marcus Beale Architects.