loading...

Research Seminars 2017-18
Spring

Every Wednesday 1-2pm, in Fincham 001 unless otherwise indicated.
Please let MA, Ph.D. and undergraduate students know.

All welcome!

Wed 24 January 

Michael Kindellan (University of Sheffield), ‘A poetics of pedagogy: Charles Olson at Black Mountain College’

Wed 31 January 

Tomoko Nakagawa (University of the Sacred Heart), ‘Frankenstein in the Meiji Japan: The 1889 Japanese Translation and Illustrations’

Wed 7 February

Leone Ross, Come Let Us Sing Anyway

Wed 14 February  Reading week, no seminar.
Wed 21 February

Dustin Frazier-Wood, ‘Posthumous Publication: The Afterlife of an Enlightenment Archive’

Wed 28 February 

Rachele Dini, ‘“The house was a garbage dump”: Waste, mess and aesthetic reclamation in 1960s and 70s ‘mad housewife’ fiction’

Wed 7 March

Ph.D. upgrade: Adam Warne, ‘Kemp's Mad Jig: a madman writing in the footsteps of a fool’ and Alex Bertram, 'Well Known People I Have Photographed: A Journey into the Memory of Portrait Photographer, Walter Barnett'

Wed 14 March 

Tim Atkins, ‘Party Girl / Part Girl / Arty Girl: experimental form and the creation of an avant-garde film-noir poem-novel’

Wed 21 March 

Lisa Sainsbury, ‘“It’s not someone unless it can talk! Otherwise it’s just food!” Ontological Dialogues and the Metaphysical Structures of Children’s Literature’ and Kate Teltscher, ‘“Gigantic children of the sun”: Kew’s Palm House and the Victorian Cultural Imagination’

Wed 28 March 

David Fallon, 'Thomas Payne's Modest Revolution'

Please contact Clare McManus for further details: c.mcmanus@roehampton.ac.uk

 

English and Creative Writing seminars

 

Upgrade panel: Denise Saul, RU Poetry Centre (title tbc). Fi001