New poetry prize launches in honour of Robert Graves

The Roehampton Poetry Centre announces the launch of The Robert Graves Prize, a new poetry competition in partnership with Wimbledon BookFest.

Posted: 21 July 2017

The Robert Graves Prize, named after Wimbledon born twentieth century poet and novelist, is now open and accepting entries.

The prize will be judged by Fiona Sampson, Professor of Poetry at the University of Roehampton, which hosts the Roehampton Poetry Centre, and literary agent Peter Straus. The winner of the prize will receive £1000, with two runners up receiving £100 each. All three winning entries will be published in POEM, a quarterly magazine published by the University.

The winner of the prize will be awarded at Wimbledon BookFest, following the annual Robert Graves Society Lecture on Sunday 15th October 2017, which will be given by Robert Graves expert and Roehampton Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul O'Prey.

Submissions are welcomed from across the globe. Entries must be original, unpublished and no longer than 40 lines long. Multiple entries are encouraged but poems will be judged individually.

Please visit www.roehampton.ac.uk/robert-graves-prize to enter. Deadlines for submissions is Wednesday 23rd August 2017. The prize also has an under 18s youth strand, details of which to follow. The 2017 Robert Graves Poetry Prize is kindly co-sponsored by Marcus Beale Architects.

more stories »

Latest news

Lecturer is appointed to advise the Scottish Government on human rights

A Senior Law Lecturer at the University of Roehampton has been appointed as a member on a new expert panel, advising on the future of human rights in Scotland.

Department of English and Creative Writing adds Publishing to its postgraduate offering

Responding to industry needs, Roehampton now proudly offers MA Publishing.

The life of Frankenstein’s creator uncovered by leading Roehampton Professor

Professor Fiona Sampson's new book reveals discoveries that offer a richer understanding of the woman behind Frankenstein.