Roehampton Poetry Prize winner announced

The Roehampton Poetry Centre at the University of Roehampton is delighted to announce the winner of the third annual Roehampton Poetry Prize.

Posted: 28 June 2017

image for news story Roehampton Poetry Prize winner announced
Roehampton Poetry Prize winner Denise Riley

The prize is awarded to the best poetry collection of the year. The winner of the 2017 prize has been announced as Denise Riley's Say Something Back, published by Picador.

The award was founded to support poets of every nationality and age who live and work in Britain during the year their books were published. Each year, the eligible poetry collections published in the year from 1st April to 1st April are read by a panel of poet judged, chaired by a member of the Roehampton Poetry Centre. This year's judges were Ahren Warner and Elaine Feinstein, and chaired by Professor Fiona Sampson MBE, Director of the Roehampton Poetry Centre.

Professor Sampson commented, "The exciting shortlist we came up with may be seen as uncompromising; it certainly reflects no compromises. We were delighted to find that we had picked three young poets – with two debuts among them – and two women still at the height of their extraordinary powers after decades of poetry."

Judge Ahren Warner described Riley's winning collection as, "A deserving and formidable winner. It is an outstanding, intellectually rigorous, moving and yet generous book in which Riley frames her formal ambition and seriousness of purpose with both wit and a compelling sense of humanity."

The shortlisted titles for this year's Prize included Emily Berry's Stranger, Baby (Faber & Faber), Selima Hill's The Magnitude of Sublime Existence (Bloodaxe), Wayne Holloway-Smith's Alarum (Bloodaxe) and Alex Wong's Poems Without Irony (Carcanet).

Judge Elaine Feinstein said of the shortlisted collections, "Emily Berry is clearly an original, using many of the techniques of a resurgent modernism, and finding rhythm and lyricism without any conventional shaping devices. Selima Hill has a beguiling assurance which gives an odd authority to her troubled inner landscape. Wayne Holloway-Smith is clearly an adventurous new voice. And in Poems without Irony, Alex Wong finds an extraordinarily new rhetoric for his love poetry."

Previous winners of the Roehampton Poetry Prize include John Glenday's The Golden Mean, Sean O'Brien's The Beautiful Librarians and Carole Satyamurti's Mahabharata.

The Roehampton Poetry Centre encourages the writing, reading and study of poetry and aims to bring living poetry into the heart of the University's English and Creative Writing curriculum. Students are excited and inspired by working alongside the very best poets in Britain and the world.

more stories »

Latest news

State-of-the-art new therapy is offered to the community

The University of Roehampton is inviting members of the community to come forward for free therapy sessions - as part of an innovative new therapy research programme aimed at helping people who are experiencing depression.

Discover 18th Century artefacts at the University of Roehampton

The University of Roehampton is holding a free event on Saturday 25th November, as part of the national Being Human Festival – which aims to engage the public with the latest innovative research taking place across the humanities. 

The Print Room hosts award winning Roehampton poet, David Harsent

Notting Hill venue, The Print Room at the Coronet, hosted Professor David Harsent as part of the Autumn/ Winter poetry season.