The Centre for Dance Research organises an annual series of research seminars, panel discussions, and lecture demonstrations by international scholars and dance artists as well as those from the UK and Roehampton. The Centre also hosts high-profile symposia and international conferences.

CDR Events

CDR events are free and open to the public. They take place on the campus of the University of Roehampton. For more information, contact Chris Jones, research facilitator: chris.jones@roehampton.ac.uk; 0208 392 5145.


The Thinking Body: Residency sharing and talk with Vera Mantero

22 April 2017, 17.30
Michaelis Theatre, Froebel Campus, University of Roehampton, London SW15 5PJ
Free, all welcome, no need to book

This sharing is the culmination of choreographer Vera Mantero’s five-day residency, ‘The Thinking Body’, at Roehampton Dance (18-22 April 2017). The evening will involve practical sharing of materials from the workshop by the participants and a talk by Mantero in conversation with dance artist Charlie Ashwell. Mantero will discuss her current artistic concerns as explored through the residency as well as give an insight into the development of her work over time.

Vera Mantero is an internationally renowned Portuguese dance maker who has presented her work all over Europe, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Singapore, South Korea and the USA. Her recent work The Clean and The Dirty, premiered in April 2016 at the Maria Matos Theatre in the framework of the cycle The Three Ecologies. It reflects her concern for fundamental issues such as the environment, economic sustainability, social cohesion and inclusion, and citizenship. Mantero participates regularly in international improvisation projects alongside improvisers and choreographers such as Lisa Nelson, Mark Tompkins, Meg Stuart and Steve Paxton. Since 2000, Mantero has also been exploring vocal work, either singing the repertoire of different authors or co-creating experimental music projects. Mantero was invited by Boris Charmatz to be part of ‘20 Dancers for the 20th Century’, a living archive of the defining choreographic solos of the 20th century, which took place at Tate Modern (London) and at the Paris Opera/Palais Garnier in 2015. More: www.orumodofumo.com; http://roehamptondance.com/cdr-events/; http://roehamptondance.com/cdr-events/vera-mantero-thinking-body-workshop/

Conference — Dance Fields: Staking A Claim for Dance Studies in the 21st Century
19-22 April 2017
Elm Grove Conference Centre, University of Roehampton, Roehampton Lane, London SW15 5PH
Booking required

A conference convened by Centre for Dance Research (C-DaRE), Coventry University; Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Dance (CIRID), De Montfort University and Centre for Dance Research (CDR), University of Roehampton. The conference offers the blurring of boundaries between scholarly, writerly and material based artistic practices; emergent discourses between and across disciplines. New forms of collaborative and collective working will be emphasised and explored via mixed modes of enquiry, presentation, participation and dialogue. By asking, ‘Where are we now?’ The conference will focus on strategic issues and questions pertaining to the UK socio-political landscape, whilst acknowledging the importance of the European and international dimensions as practices cannot be contained within any specific country-based framework.

Go to the Dance Fields Conference website for further information and registration: https://dancefields.org/


Postgraduate Symposium

PhD students in Dance organise a postgraduate symposium annually or biennially. The 2016 symposium, 'Positioning', will take place on Tuesday 17 May. Read more...


CDR Events Online


Past International Conferences

  • British Dance Institutions: Past, Present and Future (2012)
  • Thinking Through Dance: The Philosophy of Dance Performance and Practices (2011)
  • Dance History: Politics, Practices and Perspectives (2010), in collaboration with the Society for Dance Research
  • Sound Moves: An International Conference on Music and Dance (2005), in conjunction with Princeton University and the Society for Dance Research
  • Practice as Research (2003 and 2006)
  • Structures and Metaphors in Baroque Dance (2001)
  • The Politics of Dance Preservation (1997)
  • Following in Sir Fred's Steps (1994), a collaboration with the Royal Ballet

Past CDR Events

Speakers Since 2012/13

  • Gaby Agis [listen online]
  • Kirsty Alexander
  • Stefanie Alisch
  • Dr Simon Bayly
  • Nicole Beutler
  • Meytal Blanaru
  • Dr Maaike Bleeker
  • Dr Carol Brown
  • Professor Theresa Buckland
  • Dr Chifang Chao [listen online]
  • Professor Ananya Chatterjea
  • Dr Emilyn Claid
  • Dr Renee M. Conroy
  • Dr Scott deLahunta [watch online]
  • Dr Ann R. David
  • Dr David Davies
  • Dr Catherine Foley [listen online]
  • Dr Karin Eli
  • Dr Simon Ellis
  • Dr Konstantina Georgelou
  • Sheila Ghelani
  • Dr Maureen Gupta
  • Dr Helena Hammond
  • Dr Sara Houston
  • Amy Howard
  • Dr Felicia Huges-Freeland
  • Jennifer Jackson
  • Dr Jean Johnson Jones
  • Professor Stephanie Jordan
  • Dr Christina Kostoula
  • Gillie Kleiman
  • Rosemary Lee
  • Dr Tiziana Leucci
  • Dr Mary-Jo Lodge
  • Ashley McGill
  • Dr Dana Mills
  • Dr Rachel Morley
  • Dr Gay Morris
  • Dr Geraldine Morris
  • Dr Larraine Nicholas
  • Dr Edward Nye
  • Katja Nyqvist
  • Dr Silvestru Petac
  • Dr Carine Plancke [listen online]
  • Dr Nina Power
  • Dr Efrosini Protopapa
  • Kimiko Okamoto
  • Anita Ratnam
  • Dr Danielle Robinson
  • Professor Janice Ross
  • Susan Sentler
  • Dr Jonathan Skinner
  • Dr Danae Theodoridou
  • Professor Julie Van Camp