Members of the Centre for Research in Romanticism

Dr David Fallon

Dr Dustin M. Frazier Wood

Dustin's research focuses on medievalism, antiquarianism and the history of books, libraries and archives in the long eighteenth century. His work is primarily focused on eighteenth-century representations of the past, and antiquarian book and manuscript collecting, cataloguing and circulation. He is Librarian and Archivist to the Spalding Gentlemen's Society, Britain's oldest provincial intellectual society; and acts as a consultant to UK heritage collections on the care, display and research of rare books and manuscripts. 

Professor Ian Haywood

Ian is an expert on print culture in the Romantic Period and his most recent book entitled Romanticism and Caricature (Cambridge University Press, 2013) has been completed with the aid of a Leverhulme Research Fellowship. Other areas of interest include Romanticism and illustration, literary forgery, working-class writing, Chartism, and popular women's texts of the postwar period. In 2015 Ian was elected President of the British Association of Romantic Studies (BARS).

Professor Zachary Leader

Zachary ‘s major research interests are the English Romantic Period, post-war British writing, contemporary American fiction and theories of writing, editing and revision. He has published widely in Romantic Period literature. His recent publications include the Oxford World Classics edition of Shelley’s works. In addition he reviews widely for the TLS, LRB, the Guardian, the Observer, the Independent on Sunday and the New York Times Book Review.

Dr Mary L. Shannon

Mary's research spans the Romantic to the mid nineteenth-century period. She focuses on print culture, periodicals, popular culture and fiction, and literary London. She is co-editing Romanticism and Illustration (CUP, 2019) with Ian Haywood and Susan Matthews. She is a founder-member of RIN and a member of the NCRCL. Her next project is about literary and visual culture on Marylebone in London 1770-1870.

Dr Kate Teltscher

Kate’s research focuses on the history of cultural contact between Britain and Asia in the colonial period. She works on travel accounts, colonial writing and lexicography. Her The High Road to China (Bloomsbury) was shortlisted for the James Tait Black Memorial prize in 2006.

Dr Shelley Trower

Shelley’s main research areas lie in nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature and culture. Specific interests include the relationship between literature and science, place and nation, sound studies and oral history, and, most recently, reading. Her first monograph, Senses of Vibration: A History of the Pleasure and Pain of Sound was published by Continuum in 2012.

Dr Beatrice Turner

Honorary Staff

Susan Matthews (Honorary Senior Research Fellow)

Susan is a specialist on William Blake, the subject of her monograph, Blake, Sexuality and Bourgeois Politeness (Cambridge, 2011). She has research interests in the visual arts and public culture in the Romantic period; literature and the Bible; and philanthropy and the politics of fertility, particularly in relation to Jonas Hanway and Hannah More.

John Seed (Honorary Research Fellow)

John works on religious dissenters in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century England, which is the subject of his monograph Dissenting Histories (Edinburgh, 2008). as well as nineteenth- and twentieth-century urban history. He is the co-editor, with Ian Haywood, of The Gordon Riots (Cambridge, 2012).

David Worrall (Honorary Senior Research Fellow)

David’s work spans several fields, including William Blake, radical print culture and, more recently, Romantic-era theatre. His most recent book is Celebrity, Performance, Reception: British Georgian Drama as Social Assemblage (Cambridge, 2013). He is currently working on a monograph provisionally entitled Theatre and Nation, which investigates the distribution of ideologies of patriotism through London and provincial theatre in the Romantic period.

External Members

Dr Diane Piccitto (Mount Saint Vincent University)

Emma Trehane (Independent Scholar)

Dr Catherine Boyle (London South Bank University)

Dr Danielle Barkley (McGill University)

Professor Duncan Wu (Georgeton University)

Professor Brycchan Carey (Kingston University)