Members of the Hispanic Research Centre


Dr Elvira Antón-Carrillo

Race, ethnicity and nation in Cuba and Latin America. Discourse analysis and Media discourses.

Steering Committee

Dr Sabela Melchor-Couto 

Foreign Language Acquisition, new technologies.

Lourdes Melcion 

Lexicography, contemporary Spain, translation.


Other Roehampton members

Ana Acevedo-Palley 

Applied linguistics, TESOL.

Dr Miguel Bernal-Merino

Audiovisual translation, translation of video games.

Professor Michael Chanan

Latin American cinema, documentary, the film soundtrack, and the social history of music.

Vicens Colomer

Reviewing and establishing the essential differences between the concepts of Second Language learning and teaching and Foreign-Language learning and teaching.

Enrica Colusso

Documentary filmmaking, visual anthropology, cross-cultural communication and representation.

Dr Carrie Hamilton

Gender studies, cultural memory, oral history.

Professor Ian Haywood

Literature and visual culture in the 18th and 19th centuries.

Dr Mark Jary

Relevance theoretic semantics and pragmatics.

Dr Garry Marvin

Anthropological perspectives on human/animal relations.

Dr Juan Orlando Pérez-González 


Dr Pablo Romero-Fresco

Audiovisual translation, accessibility, dubbing, subtitling for the deaf and hard of hearing, respeaking.

External members

Professor Frederic Chaume (Universitat Jaume I, Castelló, Spain) 

Audiovisual Translation.

Dr Jorge Díaz-Cintas (University College London) 

Audiovisual translation, accessibility to the media.

Dr Víctor Durà Vilà (King's College, London) 


Dr Marcella De Marco (London Metropolitan University) 

Audiovisual translation.

Dr Josélia Neves (Instituto Politécnico de Leiria, Portugal)

Audiovisual translation, inclusive communication and action research.

Dr Bernardo Sánchez Salas (University of La Rioja, Spain)

Spanish cinema, television and theatre.

Danielle Smith (Director 'Sandblast', London)

Western Sahara, documentary photography and filmmaking.

Dr. Mª Verónica de Haro de San Mateo (Universidad de Murcia, Spain)

History of Social Communication and History of Journalism.

Professor Juan Manuel de Faramiñán Gilbert (Universidad de Jaén, Spain)

Public International Law and European Community Law.

Professor Nadia Lie (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Literary Relations and Post/national Identities.

Dr Sara González Castrejón (Birkbeck. Uiversity of London)


Research students

Amanda (Mandie) Iveson (2014-)

Year of study: Year 3

Thesis provisional title:  What the women have to say: women’s perspectives on language, identity and nation in Catalonia

Supervisors: Dr. Elvira Antón, Dr. Carrie Hamilton, Dr. Annabelle Mooney

Research interests:  Nationalism, gender, oral history, discourse analysis, new media