Current Poetry Centre projects

Our current research includes the AHRC-funded Poettrio Experiment, with University of Newcastle. Professor Fiona Sampson is Co-investigator. The project looks at what happens when poets translate each other working with a language advisor: more details can be found here: Project readings and discussions have taken place at Rotterdam International Poetry Festival and the Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts in 2017, and in 2018 will include a programme of events at Newcastle Poetry Festival and at Roehampton Poetry Centre. You can see some of these performances on the project’s YouTube Channel.

Every year the Poetry Centre programmes public readings and events in collaboration with other agencies. From 2013-15 we ran a free public reading series at Senate House, University of London. Since 2015 we have collaborated with the Royal Society of Literature and the T.S. Eliot Foundation on its annual T.S. Eliot Poetry Reading. In 2017 we collaborated with Reading University and Ledbury Poetry Festival to tour Danish poet Pia Tafdrup. In 2018, Professor Fiona Sampson will be giving public lectures in the UK and abroad linked to her new biography, In Search of Mary Shelley: the girl who wrote Frankenstein (UK: Profile, US: Pegasus, 2018), a BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week. We are always interested in new partnerships that broaden the reach of good practice across the country: contact Professor Fiona Sampson for more information.

We deliver public creative writing courses. Since 2015 we have run an annual daylong festival writing course with Wimbledon Bookfest. In 2017 we designed and delivered the Ledbury Poetry Festival’s first residential poetry writing course.

We have run the annual Roehampton Prize for the year’s best poetry collection since 2014/15. The prize aims to support the British poetic ecosystem and create more opportunities for relatively unheard poets from diverse backgrounds by being open not to international “celebrity writers” but only to poets who, regardless of citizenship, are living in the UK at the time their book is published. Winners so far are: 

2015 Sean O’Brien November and Carole Satyamurti Mahabharata

2016 John Glenday The Golden Mean

2017 Denise Riley Say Something Back

Since 2014 we’ve also run an annual public entry prize for single poems. Formerly the Ruskin Prize, since 2017 this has become the Robert Graves Prize and it’s run in association with Wimbledon Bookfest. Winners are published in Poem magazine and receive a cash honorarium. 2017 judges were the Literary Agent Peter Straus and Professor Fiona Sampson. More details here.