The Roehampton Poetry Centre has been created by Professor Fiona Sampson, who joined the University's Department of English & Creative Writing as Professor of Poetry in August 2013. Professor David Harsent who joined the University as Professor of Creative Writing in September 2013, will be the Centre's Chair.


Fiona Sampson

Professor Fiona Sampson

Fiona has published more than twenty-five books of poetry, criticism and philosophy of language, in over thirty languages. Her Selected Poems recently appeared in China, the US, Romania, Ukraine and Bosnia. She has received numerous national and international awards including the Newdigate Prize, a Cholmondeley Award, the Zlaten Prsten (Macedonia), various awards from the Society of Authors, Writer’s Awards from the Arts Councils of England and of Wales, and PBS commendations. She has also been shortlisted twice for both the T.S. Eliot and Forward Prizes. Fiona was the first woman to edit the Poetry Review since Muriel Spark's tenure in 1947-9. 



Professor David Harsent
David joined the university as Professor of Creative Writing in September 2013, will be the Centre's Chair. His Legion won the Forward prize for best collection in 2005; Night (2011) won the Griffin International poetry prize. In Secret, his English version of poems by Yannis Ritsos, was published in 2012. David Harsent has collaborated with composers-most often with Harrison Birtwistle-on commissions that have been performed at venues world-wide, including the Royal Opera House, the Aldeburgh Festival, the Saltzburg Festival and Carnegie Hall.



Visiting Fellows and Colleagues  

Visiting Fellows:

Dr Alipio de Franca, Brazilian literary translator and critic - autumn semester 2016.

Professor Paul Hetherington, poet and Head of International Poetry Studies Institute, University of Canberra - 2016-17.

Junior Visiting Fellow:

Dr Patrick Davidson Roberts, editor - autumn semester 2016.


Other recent visiting colleagues have included Dr Stephen Romer, poet and editor, and poet Sudeep Sen.


Post-doctoral Fellow:

Roehampton Poetry Centre are proud to announce a two-year fully funded Post-doctoral Fellowship, commencing autumn 2016-04-25.


Graduate Students:

Bernadette Coleman  

Denise Saul

Lavinia Singer

Tamara Wilson