The University of Roehampton, London, has its roots in the traditions of its four constituent colleges – Digby Stuart, Froebel, Southlands and Whitelands – which were all formed in the 19th century. Studying at a campus university gives students a sense of community, and at Roehampton you are not only part of the University, but you will also have an instant identity within the smaller world of your college. The four colleges serve as the focal points for the University's vibrant social scene and provide healthy intercollegiate rivalries in sport and other traditional celebrations.

How does College membership work?

Membership to each College is automatic depending on where you are living and what you are studying. Each College houses approximately 2000 students, to find out what college you belong take a look at our College Membership page.

Jubilee Building - Digby Stuart College

Digby Stuart College

Digby Stuart is one of the four constituent Colleges of the University of Roehampton. It was first established in 1874 as a women's teacher training college by the Society of the Sacred Heart, an order of French religious women who settled at Roehampton in 1850 having first arrived in England in 1846.

Rear View of Grove House - Froebel College

Froebel College

Founded in 1892, Froebel has for many years been a college in which high academic achievement, profoundly influenced by its tradition, has produced outstanding success in academic life, especially in teacher education.The College is based within and around Grove Housewhich dates back to 1792 and was designed by architect James Wyatt for Sir Joshua Vanneck. Froebel is also home to the Department of Education - renowned for being one of Britain’s major centres for Initial Teacher Training.

Queens Building - Southlands College

Southlands College

Southlands College is home to over 200 resident undergraduates and the college for a large range of non-residential, mature and postgraduate students. Although it was founded in the 1870s, the College has moved to a fantastic modern campus, designed and built with the needs of a modern university specifically in mind. Southlands has a rich history and maintains a strong commitment to the ethos of its Methodist foundation, which is seen in the lives and actions of its members and their relationships with one another and the community around us. The college is committed to the causes of equality, social justice and community engagement.

A vibrant student community

Whitelands College

Whitelands College has a long and distinctive history. Founded in 1841 as a teachers’ training college, it is among the oldest higher education institutions in England, and one of the very first to provide education for women. Whitelands was established by the Church of England, and continues to retain its Anglican ethos and links with the church, whilst welcoming students of all faiths or none.