Our University is comprised of four historic Colleges - Digby Stuart, Froebel, Southlands and Whitelands - which were all formed in the 19th century. 

Our Colleges help us provide the friendly, welcoming community that makes Roehampton unique in London. They provide social events, welfare support and opportunities to compete in sport and other activities – including the annual Roehampton College Cup.

Membership to each College is automatic and depends on where you are living and what you are studying. To find out more about what being part of a College means and which one you will be likely to belong to, take a look at our Joining a College page.

Our Colleges University of Roehampton
Images of each of the colleges at Roehampton
Digby Stuart Flat Leaders

Digby Stuart College

Digby Stuart College was first established in 1874 as a women's teacher training college. It was founded by the Society of the Sacred Heart, an order of French religious women who settled at Roehampton in 1850 having first arrived in England in 1846.

Today Digby Stuart is home to some of our newest facilities, including our Welcome Centre, based in Elm Grove. The ethos of the College is based on social justice and equality, and all Digby Stuart students can expect to be treated with dignity and kindness.

Froebel College

Founded in 1892, Froebel has for many years been a college in which high academic achievement, profoundly influenced by its tradition, has produced outstanding success in academic life. The ethos of the College is based on the philosophy of Friedrich Froebel.

The College is based within and around Grove House, which dates back to 1792 and was designed by architect James Wyatt for Sir Joshua Vanneck. Froebel is also home to the School of Education - renowned for being one of Britain’s major centres for teacher training and educational research.

Southlands College

Southlands College opened in Battersea on 26 February 1872 as a training college for women teachers. In 1997, Southlands moved into new premises designed by architects Sheppard Robson on the current Roehampton campus.

Southlands has a rich history and maintains a strong commitment to the ethos of its Methodist foundation, which is seen in the lives and actions of its members and their relationships with one another and the community around us. The College is committed to the causes of equality, social justice and community engagement.

The Sett

Whitelands College

Whitelands College has a long and distinctive history. Founded in 1841 as a teachers’ training college, it is among the oldest higher education institutions in England, and one of the very first to provide education for women.

Whitelands was established by the Church of England, and continues to retain its Anglican ethos and links with the church, whilst welcoming students of all faiths or none. Today it occupies a beautiful 14-acre site overlooking London’s Richmond Park.