Digby Stuart College

Digby Stuart College is one four colleges that make up the University of Roehampton, and we are delighted to welcome you to join or find out about our community.

Library across the lake


The Digby Stuart community is comprised of approximately 650 residential students living in Elm Grove, Bede House, Shaw House and Newman House, and over 1000 commuting students and staff from the School of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences and School of Nursing, as well as our large numbers of alumni, visitors, and friends of the College.  

We are a friendly, creative, and diverse college committed to celebrating all our students and supporting them to achieve success both within and outside their academic studies. Our values of empowering learning, social justice, building community, and enabling personal growth are central to everything we do, and we are pleased to welcome current, new, and prospective students to learn more about who we are.  

Digby Stuart College


At Digby Stuart, we believe in the power of community and celebrating the triumphs, challenges, and everyday moments of university life. Our college programme aims to centre our students and community at every turn.


Below you'll find information on Digby Stuart’s team of staff and elected student officers. Feel free to contact us with your questions or to arrange a meeting to discuss anything related to life in college – we are more than happy to help you!

If you are unsure who is best to speak to about your enquiry, please email digbystuart.college@roehampton.ac.uk with your name and contact details and a member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

During term-time, students can also pop into one of our College Drop-In sessions on Mondays 1pm-3pm in The Base, for a cup of tea and a chat with members of the staff team.

Sorrel Brown (she/her)

College Engagement & Activities Officer
Office – E106, Erasmus House (First Floor)

Ginny Jordan-Arthur

College Chaplain
Office – E108, Erasmus House (First Floor)

Dr. Julia Tomas (she/her)

Chaplaincy Community Worker
Office – E109, Erasmus House (First Floor)

Rachael Hunt (she/her)

Digby Stuart Student Wellbeing Officer (SWO)  


College Warden
Bede, Shaw & Newman


College warden
Elm Grove

Sacred Heart Chapel


Welcome to Chaplaincy at Digby Stuart College

Here at Digby Stuart College, we have a wonderful and rich heritage gifted to us by our founders, the Society of the Sacred Heart, and their vision and commitment to educating and celebrating the whole person still sits at the heart of what we do.

Find out more


Digby Stuart College was founded by the Society of the Sacred Heart Sisters (RSCJ) in 1874 as a centre to train and inspire women who would go on to serve in education as teachers and leaders.