Semester and term dates

2018-2019

Undergraduate Semester Dates 2018–2019

Semester 1: 17 September 2018 to 11 January 2019

Registration and Welcome Week Monday 17 – Friday 21 September 2018
Teaching starts Monday 24 September 2018
Independent Study, Advice and Guidance Week Monday 22 – Friday 26 October 2018
Winter Break Monday 17 December 2018 – Tuesday 1 January 2019
Coursework Submission Week Tuesday 1 – Friday 4 January 2019
Semester 1 Exams** Monday 7 – Friday 11 January 2019
End of Semester 1 Friday 11 January 2019

Semester 2: 14 January to 7 June 2019

Teaching starts Monday 14 January 2019
Independent Study, Advice and Guidance Week Monday 18 – Friday 22 February 2019
Spring Break* Monday 1 – Monday 22 April 2019
Advice and Guidance Week Tuesday 23 – Friday 26 April 2019
Semester 2 Exams** Monday 29 April – Friday 24 May 2019
End of Semester 2 Friday 7 June 2019


* Good Friday: 19 April 2019
  Easter Monday: 22 April 2019

** Students must check their exam timetables to ensure they can attend their examinations

Summer Graduation will take place on 29 and 30 July 2019 at the Royal Festival Hall.


PGCE Secondary & PGCE Secondary School Direct Term Dates 2018–19

Autumn term: Monday 3 September to Friday 21 December 2018

Spring term: Wednesday 2 January to Friday 5 April 2019**
**Subject to variation as students adhere to term dates of teaching practice schools.

Summer term: Tuesday 23 April to Friday 21 June 2019


PGCE Primary Term Dates 2018–19

Autumn term: Monday 3 September to Wednesday 19 December 2018

Induction and University based teaching begins:

PGCE Primary: Monday 3 and Tuesday 4 September 2018
PGCE Primary School Direct: Thursday 6 and Friday 7 September 2018
PGCE Primary SCITT: Wednesday 12 September 2018
   
Reading/Study Week: Monday 22 October – Friday 26 October 2018
Term ends Wednesday 19 December 2018
Reading/Study Weeks Thursday 20 December 2018 – Friday 4 January 2019

Spring term: Monday 7 January to Friday 5 April 2019**

Reading Week: Monday 18 February – Friday 22 February 2019
Term ends: Friday 5 April 2019**
Reading/Study Weeks: Monday 8 April – Monday 22 April 2019

**Subject to variation as students adhere to term dates of teaching practice schools

Summer term:  Tuesday 23 April to Friday 28 June 2019

Reading/Study Week: Monday 27 May - Friday 31 May 2019
Term ends: Friday 28 June 2019

 

2019-2020

Undergraduate Semester Dates 2019–2020

Semester 1: 16 September 2019 to 24 January 2020

Registration and Welcome Week Monday 16 September 2019 – Friday 20 September 2019
Teaching starts Monday 23 September 2019
Independent Study Week Monday 4 November 2019 – Friday 8 November 2019
Coursework Assessment Week Monday 16 December 2019 – Friday 20 December 2019
Winter break Monday 23 December 2019 – Friday 3 January 2020
Coursework Assessment Week Monday 6 January 2020 – Friday 10 January 2020
Semester 1 Exams** Monday 13 January 2020 – Friday 24 January 2020
End of Semester 1 Friday 24 January 2020

Semester 2: 27 January 2020 to Friday 5 June 2020

Teaching starts Monday 27 January 2020
Independent Study Week Monday 2 March 2020 - Friday 6 March 2020
Spring break* Monday 6 April 2020 - Friday 17 April 2020
Semester 2 Exams** Monday 4 May 2020 - Friday 22 May  2020
End of Semester 2 Friday 5 June 2020


* Good Friday: 10 April 2020
  Easter Monday: 13 April 2019

** Students must check their exam timetables to ensure they can attend their examinations


PGCE Secondary Term Dates 2019–20

Semester 1: 4 September to 19 December 2019

Induction and University based teaching begins:

PGCE Secondary: Wednesday 4th September 2019 – Briefing for Uni Led only
School Observation Thursday 5th September – Tuesday 10th September in school
   
Induction: Wednesday 11 September 2019 – all Students
Independent study week: Monday 21 October – Friday 25 October 2019
End of semester 1 Thursday 19 December 2019
Winter break Friday 20 December 2019 – Friday 3 January 2020

Semester 2: 6 January to 3 April 2020**

Semester starts Monday 6 January 2020
Independent study week: Monday 17 February – Friday 21 February 2020
End of semester 2: Friday 3 April 2020**
Spring break: Monday 6 April – Friday 17 April 2020

**Subject to variation as students adhere to term dates of teaching practice schools.

Semester 3: 20 April to 25 June 2020

Semester starts: Monday 20 April 2020
Independent study week: Monday 25 May - Friday 29 May 2020
End of semester 3: Thursday 25 July 2020

 

 

PGCE Primary Term Dates 2019–20

Semester 1: 2 September 2019 to 18 December 2019

Induction and University based teaching begins:

PGCE Primary: Monday 2 and Tuesday 3 September 2019
PGCE Primary School Direct: Thursday 5 and Friday 6 September 2019
PGCE Primary SCITT: Wednesday 11 September 2019
   
Independent study week: Monday 21 October – Friday 25 October 2019
End of semester 1 Wednesday 18 December 2019
Winter break Thursday 19 December 2019 – Friday 3 January 2020

Semester 2: 6 January 2020 to 3 April 2020**

Semester starts Monday 6 January 2020
Independent study week: Monday 17 February – Friday 21 February 2020
End of semester 2: Friday 3 April 2020**
Spring break: Monday 6 April – Friday 17 April 2020

**Please note some of the dates outlined may be subject to change due to variations in term dates of teaching practice schools.

Semester 3: 20 April 2020 to 3 July 2020***

Semester starts: Monday 20 April 2020
Independent study week: Monday 25 May - Friday 29 May 2020
End of semester 3: Friday 3 July 2020

***PGCE course contingency days: 6 July - 10 July 2020